TopDawg’s Travelogue

Travel – All About Travel –Yours, Mine, Ours…Everyone’s Travel

Continental Air Changes Policy on Size of Bags

Posted by Carlanne on November 14, 2008

So Continental Airlines is now charging for checked bags and then, since people are cramming more into their carry-ons in order to avoid the nickel and dime gauging, cuts the size of the carry on bag from 51 linear inches to 45 linear inches.  Now 6 linear inches does not sound like much, but….

I am an amateur photographer, which means I like to carry on my rather hefty camera, and lens, and my 15-inch computer with a backup hard drive, and numerous and sundry filters, cleaners, and other accessories.  I have a Pelican bag that, until now, just fit the criteria for a carry on bag.  (And who in their right mind would check that kind of camera equipment!)  But with Continental, that no longer applies.  Go measure your “pilot-size” carry on bag and see if you can fit it into 45 linear inches.  If it does not, scratch Continental Airlines from your list of desirable airlines to fly! 

And my clothes?  Well, how many layers of clothing can I wear so that I do not have to pack any clothing?  I am starting to look for the clothing that is microfiber and wash-n-wear silk.  Very lightweight, rolls up into a small bag (like a gallon freezer bag) and can be hand washed each night and dry by the morning.  Efficiency is very important now.  One pair of shoes – the ones I wear to the airport, is all I will wear on the trip!  OK.  I am female.  I have to have one dressy pair, so I go by the strappiest sandals I can find that will also fit into a corner of my carry-on. Grrrrrrrr.   Maybe the airlines would rather not be in the business of transporting people and their baggage (literally) around the world.  

Does this mean I will not be traveling?  NO!  I will travel.  And I will travel in style!  I will go by train, I will fly an airline that does not abuse my good nature, and, if I do have to fly one of the other ones, I will pack very carefully. 

I would much rather buy some cool, new , lightweight clothes than pay the amount of money the airlines wants to charge me for my bags.  The lightweight clothes will last for many trips and eventually I might even have enough spare change left over to buy, well, a bottle of water while I am on the flight!

Leave a comment